Feeling Old and Hot Sandwiches

Welcome to those casual readers… (Who am I kidding, no-one reads this)

Well, it’s 2010 and I must say, who’d have thought I’d manage to live this long? Tongue out

I turned 23 last month… I wasn’t impressed with my friend’s revelation that we are now 17 years from being 40. The sensation of being ‘old’ was further cemented when I was invited to my girlfriend’s friend’s 18th birthday party, as soon as I arrived I felt like I ought to be at the bar complaining to the staff that ‘it wasn’t like this in my day’ and by the time I was ready to leave (which didn’t take long) I was wondering if I’d make it to the doors without a zimmer frame. Sad What made it worse was two nineteen year olds sat at the same table as me (as my girlfriend was dancing to Queen and Bon Jovi) complaining that THEY felt like they were too old for the party.

I have a job! I am a canvasser for Entwhistle Green estate agents, I get to drive to some really lovely areas around where I live to deliver leaflets to every house I can see that isn’t for sale with the company I work for. I’ve been doing it for a month and a week now and I must say it’s not a bad job for me, casual hours and it involves walking around mostly nice areas, which I enjoy.

As I have kinda mentioned already, I’m still with Charlotte, which puts us somewhere near the 18 month mark I think, which makes it the longest relationship I have ever been a part of (well, if you don’t count the fact that I was ‘going out’ with a girl called Sarah throughout the 5 years of primary school, somehow I don’t really think that counts though)

Hmm, what else is new…?well, I can slowly feel my already somewhat diminished intellect seeping out of my skull with every day I am not at uni… Which brings me neatly onto the next new thing, I’m no longer at university; I’m taking a year out. I spent the start of my third year travelling to and from uni every weekend and spending the week-nights sleeping on the sofas and floors of my friend’s houses/rooms. Turns out that a transitive life like that isn’t conducive to a positive and motivated attitude to university work and as a result, my attendance and performance was slipping from an already mediocre level. With exam results scaring me I decided that the best course of action was to pull out of uni, have some time to reassess my approach to the work and maybe even build up my somewhat low confidence by doing some volunteer work in the interpreting field wherever I could get it. I have yet to secure any volunteer work but there are letters and applications circling around.

I had my hair cut the other day, not the shortest it’s ever been but I must say I’m not used to feeling the breeze on the back of my neck, Charlotte straightened what’s left of it the other day and it doesn’t look abysmal so I think it’s something I can learn to live with until it grows back. I might put a picture up if I can ever be bothered to plug my webcam back in after it offended me by taking such a poor photo of me that I thought I’d been attacked in my sleep by rabid dogs.

I think that’s all, please keep your eyes sharp and ears pricked for any further updates on here in the next week/month/year/decade.

~ keep the peace or take something commonplace and assure it’s ascension into the realms of the gods… like toasty bags… how awesome are they! ~

One thought on “Feeling Old and Hot Sandwiches

  1. Amy says:

    Hey. Nice to see your updated blog. And yes im sad enough to read this lol.Hope your keeping yourself well. Amy

Leave a Reply

